Friday, 5 August 2011

CRAZY 8 COUNTDOWN

So recently my sister taught me how to play crazy 8 countdown...
And I love it!!! It's so fun! When I first played it, I kinda failed. But, the second time I beat her and won! " I am the champion my friends, I'll keep on winning till the end! " Enough with the fun!...

This is how you play. First everyone gets 8 cards(You are allowed to look at them). The objective of the game is to finish your cards and get down to 0. So,you finish your 8 cards then move on to 7 cards, finish those move on to 6 cards and so on until you get to 0 cards. Someone puts a card down from the deck to start,then,somebody puts the card they want down on top of the first card.You take turns.If you put any kind of 2 down the person that's after you will have to pick up 2 cards. If you have 2 cards of 2 you can put them down and the person after you will pick up 4 cards. But, if they put down one more 2 the person after that will have to pick up 6 cards. The maximum people that can play this game is 4 people and the minimum amount is 2 people.

The Queen of spades makes you or someone else pick up 5 cards from the deck. When you have a Jack of any kind and if you put it down the person after you will miss a turn. There is also a wild card. If you are on round 8 the wild card is 8 of any kind, if you are on round 7 the wild card is 7 of any kind. The best thing about wild cards are that you can put them down anytime and change the shape to anything. Also if you have more than 1 of the same number card you can put them all down at the same time . So as I was saying before, you start by putting a card down from the deck, then the first person puts a card down that is the same number or the same shape as the card on the table. You keep on taking turns and either putting down the same number or shape as the one on the table down. As I said you keep on taking turns and trying to finish each round until you get to round 0, when you have 0 cards.
That's how you play Crazy 8 Countdown!

P.S.  If you have any questions or comments feel free to write them in the comment box. I will always answer them.
- Nikki :P                                                               

35 comments:

  1. Okay! Well... 4 really isn't the maximum, 6 is, but then you would barely have any card in the deck, and that's no good... But you CAN play with 6, I have before, as you finish the game, you have more cards in the deck. Also, you can play with more than one deck. (That is, if you have more than one deck. :( ) Hey, do you know how to play Prez? There's a Prez thing going on at FLSC. I've been addicted...

    ReplyDelete
  2. I solemnly swear to try and beat you at Crazy 8 Countdown.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the tip! And no, I don't know the FLSC thing. You can tell me about it at school.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Do you have to go out on an ace

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, but you have to have ace as a wild card.

      Delete
  5. when you're playing crazy eight countdown , if you're on 4's , can you use the 4 as a skip your turn and change the suit or no?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, say you use 4 of ♣️ and change it to ♥️, you have to play the last card a ♥️.

      Hope this helped !

      Delete
  6. I am on sixes and I change it diamond. My friend is on eights and she puts the six of clubs on my six (wild card). This is not right? I said "you can't do that" she said "six on six"

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. yes you can do that cuz its a pair of doubles you could also do triplets and quadruplets so your sister is correct

      Delete
  7. No you can't do that, the person would have to play the suit you said or change it with their wild card.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Suppose my wild card is two. I play the two of hearts and name hearts. What can the next player do? She can't play a two because she has to play a heart, and she can't play a heart because it won't be the two. Presumably she just has to pick up two cards and miss her turn?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. if she never had any hearts she couldve played a two and made you pick up four and if you cant go pick up 1

      Delete
  9. If you lay an 8 "wild" (while on 8's) can a person on 7's use an 8 of any suit on top of a wild 8 even though their wild card is a 7? I believe only a wild card can be layed on another wild card...right?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Can u end a crazy eight countdown game with a jack

      Delete
    2. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
  10. Can a person end a game with a jack or does the person have to ick up again

    ReplyDelete
  11. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I think you can end with any card. If your last card is a special card and your score was 2 or more, your score is reduced by 1, you immediately pick up a new hand of that many cards, the special card effect takes place and play continues. If your score was 1 playing your last card ends the game and you win. Any effect the special card would have had, such as a player having to pick up cards, is ignored.
    I have now added a section on Countdown on my Crazy Eights page at https://www.pagat.com/eights/crazy8s.html#countdown - any comments welcome.

    ReplyDelete
  13. What Happens when you dont call last card when you are on one's. How many carda do you have to pick up

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would like to know this answer as well. Almost lost a friend over the house rules

      Delete
    2. Unfortunately it looks as though we are not goinf to hear from Nikki again, even though she originally promised to answer all questions, so I will do my best. The usual penalty in ordinary Crazy Eights for failing to call last card is to draw two cards from the deck. I suggest that this should be the penalty in Countdown as well, unless you agree some other rule in advance.

      Delete
  14. If you go out on a 2 does the person pick up 2 or do you pick up first.

    ReplyDelete
  15. If I put multiple queens down with queen of spade at the bottom of the play does the other player still draw 5

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Or does the queen of spades effect disappear because I put the other queens on top

      Delete
  16. If you have two or more queens and out of your queens one of those is a queen of spades. Your only option to lay down the queens is to start with the queen of spade. Dows the pick of 5 rule get cancelled out and the only thing to happen is the change in suit. Or does the same rule apply to the queen of spades as it does 2? What I mean is if you lay 2 or 3 queens over top of your queen of spade does the other player still pick up 5 cards or no?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think that all the special effects take place, even when the player covers the card with another of the same rank. So if you play the Queen of spades and one or more other Queens on top of it, the next player still has to draw 5.

      Delete
  17. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Hey if you have 1 card and play it before anyone can call last card dose it mean u pick up 2 becuase you didn't call last card or can you get away with it

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This question applies to all versions of Crazy Eights, not only to the countdown variant. It seems to me that there are four ways you could play it, and which way you prefer is up to your group to agree.

      1. (probably the original way) There is no "last card" call and no penalty for not calling "last card".
      2. To save players continually having to check how many cards their opponents have and whether anyone is down to the last card, a player who has only one card should call "last card" before the next player's turn. If you have one card by did not call "last card" you can't go out on your next turn. You would have to draw a card, and then if you can play a card you get another chance to call "last card" and maybe go out the following turn.
      3. If you are down to one card you should call "last card" before the next person plays. If you fail to do this and another player notices before your next turn, they can point it out and you have to pick up two cards as a penalty. If no one else notices you can't go out but you can just pick up one card and carry on playing.
      4. Similar to 3, but if you forget to call last card when you have one card left (or you deliberately don't call it) and no one notices, then if you can play your card on your next turn you can go out (you got away with it).

      I don't know which is most usual nowadays - maybe version 3. If you go for version 4, it essentially takes you back to the original situation where everyone needs to keep checking whether anyone else is down to one card.
      It's worth noting that in Crazy Eights variants like the one described at the start of this thread where players can in some circumstances play more than one card in the same turn, it's sometimes possible to play all your remaining cards and go out without ever having called "last card".
      I wonder whether many people still follow this thread. If they do it is quite likely they have different views on this and it would be interestuing to know what they think.

      Delete
  19. I have one gray zone question.
    Let's say a play is on there 4th level and lays the 4, their wild card, says they want clubs, can the next player who is, let's say on another level, put down a regular 4 of whatever suit on top of their wild car 4, ignoring their request for their suit??
    We had a fight over that. The wild card 4 player said the wild card Trumps all cards, yes it does, but to the next player the top card is still a 4 and that person could still drop a same number, in this case 4 of any suit....right??

    ReplyDelete
  20. As I understand it, in this situation the next player can play a club or *their own* wild card, but *not* a regular 4.

    ReplyDelete
  21. What happens if last card is 2 on end of turns and the opponent has a 2 to match it, does the person win or do they have to then pick and play the 4 cards?

    ReplyDelete
  22. Not sure what you mean exactly by "end of turns". If you played a 2 as your last card when your score was 2 or more you draw the appropriate number of cards for your new score and the game continues - the next player will have to draw 2 cards or play another 2. If you played a 2 as your last card when your score was 1 then your score becomes 0 and you immediately win.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Website : CrownQQ Agen DominoQQ BandarQ dan Domino99 Online Terbesar

    Yuk Buruan ikutan bermain di situs CrownQQ

    Sekarang CrownQQ Memiliki Game terbaru Dan Ternama loh...

    11 permainan :
    * Poker Online
    * Bandar Poker
    * BandarQ
    * Domino99
    * AduQ
    * Sakong
    * Capsa Susun
    * Bandar66 (ADU BALAK)
    * Perang Baccarat
    * Perang Dadu
    * BD QQ (New Games)

    Bonus yang diberikan CrownQQ :
    * Bonus Rollingan 0.5% Setiap Senin
    * Bonus Refferal 20% Seumur Hidup
    * Minimal Depo & Withdraw 20.000
    * 100% Member Asli
    * Pelayanan DP & WD 24 jam
    * Livechat Kami 24 Jam Online

    Ayo gabung sekarang juga hanya dengan
    mengklick daftar crownqq

    BACA JUGA BLOGSPORT KAMI:
    WinCrownqq
    Tips & Trik
    Jendela Dunia
    Berita dan Info Dunia


    Info Lebih lanjut Kunjungi :
    WHATSAPP : +6287771354805
    LINE : CS CROWNQQ
    TELEGRAM : +855882357563

    ReplyDelete